new e-verify self check goes live

Beginning March 18th, the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) went live with its new E-Verify Self Check system. It is presently only available to individuals who are physically located in Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Mississippi, Virginia, and the District of Columbia, but will eventually be available nationwide.

As the United States government continues to encourage widespread adoption of the E-Verify employment authorization program, the new E-Verify Self Check is designed to reduce the number of tentative nonconfirmations (TNC) issued.  Prospective employees can opt to electively pre-screen themselves through the Self Check program, providing themselves with an opportunity to resolve problems such as paperwork errors before E-Verify returns a TNC.  One such common error arises from the failure to declare a name change to the Social Security Administration, often following a marriage.  While the E-Verify system has experienced some bumps in the road since its introduction several years ago, USCIS has made a strong effort to respond proactively through programs such as this one.

The E-Verify system is mandatory for some employers, such as those who receive grants or funding from the federal government, but it is not always the best solution for all.  At Wildes & Weinberg P.C, we have developed a carefully trained team specializing in employment authorization verification.  To discuss what compliance method works best for your company, or to inquire about a free Form I-9 compliance workshop, please contact Managing Partner Michael Wildes at or by phone at (212) 753-3468.

For Further Information On How We Can Help Your Firm Meet Its Employment Eligibility Verification Obligations, Please Contact Amy Wildes At

In The News


Michael and his entire team are professional, diligent and knowledgeable, effective and efficient, patient in guidance and interaction, and confident and reassuring in attitude. In brief: excellent partners and guides for the complex immigration journey.

Jonatan S Date : September 14, 2023

The team at Wildes & Weinberg waste no time. They are intelligent, professional, and know exactly what needs to be done to succeed in your case. Had the pleasure of working with Josh Wildes, Julie P. Levey, and Brenda Moura,...

Michael “Dimucc” DiMuccio Date : September 8, 2023

Josh Wildes & everyone on the W&W team were excellent with dealing with my green card application. The team were responsive to any questions, set clear goals & requirements for any & all documentation and were clear on what to...

Kelvin Barker Date : March 10, 2023

I received my Green Card from Michael Wildes and his firm some days ago. The petition approval and Green Card release represent a real achievement for people like me in the US. Michael Wildes and his team are excellent, and...

Luca Zammataro Date : November 22, 2022

Dear Michael Wildes, my husband and I would like to thank you and your team,  the work was not easy, especially in the statement, there were a lot of flaws, but we managed to correct everything in a short time,...

Jacques Carline Date : August 3, 2022

Our client David came to us after spending more than three years stuck in the immigration court morass with another attorney. His individual hearing wasn’t scheduled to occur for over a year, and he thought it might get pushed off...

David E. Date : June 8, 2022

Josh Wildes and Yoni Jonas are amazing! We sought Wildes & Weinberg help because our application for naturalization was taking a long time and seemed to be stuck in the system indefinitely. Within two weeks of submitting our paperwork to...

Daniela Bustamante Date : June 1, 2022

Video Testimonials

  • Book Launch

  • Book Warming

  • Riley Keough

  • Boy George

  • Lionel Richie

  • Stuart Varney

Quick Contact

*All fields are mandatory

Best Immigration Lawyer, Attorneys in NYC, New York